Just a quick one to let you guys know that for the next week I will be away in the fair county of Yorkshire, specifically on the Humber estuary at the RSPB reserve of Blacktoft Sands. I applied a while back to do some residential volunteering at this reserve and it has finally come around and I am soon to be off – and jolly looking forward to it.

Blacktoft Sands is in the upper reaches of the Humber and has the largest tidal reedbed in England, which makes it a special place for birds like Marsh Harrier, Bearded Reedling and Bittern. It also has some saline pools and marshland which attract many migrating waders as well as wintering wildfowl such as Pink-footed Geese. During my stay I will be helping the rangers in their day-to-day tasks which will probably involve habitat management, maintenance and assisting visitors. Hopefully I will be able to fit in some quality birding while I’m there too!

So I will not be posting anything next week, but as soon as I am back I will be updating you on my volunteering experience and the wildlife I no doubt will encounter.

